Monday, May 18, 2015


Winner 2015 Mille Miglia
After four long sections (Brescia-Rimini; Rimini-Roma; Roma-Parma; Parma-Brescia) the 2015 Mille Miglia Storico saw the 1927 Bugatti Type 40 of Juan Tonconogy and Guillermo Berisso take the chequered flag.

The original race covered 1,000 miles, and keeping in mind that the current event takes four days, Sir Stirling Moss won the 1955 race in 10 hours, 7 minutes at an average speed of just over 98mph!
Moss-Jenkinson on the way to winning 1955 Mille Miglia
1957 wreckage of De Alfonso Portago's Ferrari
The event began in 1927 and was run until 1957 when a serious accident resulted in the tragic deaths of spectators, including children, and Italian authorities shut down the mad race on public roads.

It was revived as a ‘Regularity Event’ in 1977 and is now probably the most important recreated historic rally in the world.

Bugatti's entering Roma, 2014
One of the more interesting section controls is the Vatican City in Rome!

More than 450 cars took part in this year’s Mille Miglia, which only accepts entries of cars which actually, previously participated between 1927 and 1955, or exact (authenticated) models of cars which competed in the original race.

1928 Alfa Romeo 6C 1500 MM
I’m pleased to say that the marque which scored the most wins in the original race was Alfa Romeo, but this year the highest-finishing Alfa Romeo was Massimo Greselli’s 1928 Alfa Romeo 6C 1500 MM in 22nd place.

Richard Charlesworth & Blower in 2012
Bentley Motors’ supercharged 1930 ‘Blower’ Bentley crewed by Bentley’s Richard Charlesworth, and German journalist Stefan Grundhoff finished in 200th position.

Bugatti took 1st, 3rd and 4th place this year. Ettore would be thrilled!


  1. Just a couple of these great autos exist today. It is assessed that there are around 2000 Bugatti autos in presence today. car dealerships near me